Sign Up Today! to get the latest conference news delivered right to your inbox every month. Please note that your privacy is important to us. We will not share your email address with anybody.

* required


Email Marketing by VerticalResponse
Facebook icon


The California Crime Writers Conference would not be possible without the efforts of our dedicated team of volunteers. Take a moment to get to know the talented people behind 2017 CCWC, and be sure to stop and say "hello" to them at the conference!

Name: Rochelle Staab
Conference Role: Co-Chair
Bio: Sisters in Crime/LA President Rochelle Staab authors the Agatha, Anthony, Daphne nominated and Watson award-winning Mind for Murder Mystery series featuring L.A. psychologist Liz Cooper and occult expert Nick Garfield. According to Library Journal, "Staab sets her fairly sophisticated blend of the occult in a flashy West Coast locale for great escape reading."

Name: Sue Ann Jaffarian
Conference Role: Co-Chair
Bio: Sue Ann Jaffarian is the author of two popular mystery series: the Odelia Grey series and the Ghost of Granny Apples series, as well as the Winnie Wilde romance series and short stories. Sue Ann is also a full-time paralegal for a Los Angeles law firm, and the current Vice President of SoCal MWA.

Name: Jan Burke
Conference Role: Forensics/Crime-Solving Program Track Chair
Bio: Best-selling author Jan Burke has won the Edgar, Agatha, Macavity, and other honors. She actively works for the improvement of forensic science.

Name: Sarah M. Chen
Conference Role: Treasurer
Bio: Sarah M. Chen juggles several jobs including indie bookseller, transcriber, and insurance adjuster. Her crime fiction short stories have appeared in Shotgun Honey, Crime Factory, Betty Fedora, Out of the Gutter, and Dead Guns Press, among others. Cleaning Up Finn is her first book, available now with All Due Respect Books.

Name: Matt Coyle
Conference Role: Sponsorships
Bio: Matt Coyle is the author of the Anthony Award-winning Rick Cahill crime series. He lives in San Diego with his yellow lab, Angus.

Name: Gay Degani
Conference Role: Auction Room Coordinator
Bio: Gay Degani, four-time nominee for Pushcart consideration, has published a short story collection, Rattle of Want, and a suspense novel, What Came Before.

Name: Daryl Wood Gerber
Conference Role: Manuscript Critique Chair
Bio: Agatha Award-winning and bestselling author Daryl Wood Gerber ventures into the world of suspense with her debut novel, Girl on the Run. Daryl also writes the upcoming French Bistro Mysteries, the Cookbook Nook Mysteries, and, as Avert Aames, pens the Cheese Shop Mysteries.

Name: Naomi Hirahara
Conference Role: Industry Track Chair
Bio: Naomi Hirahara is the Edgar Award-winning author of two mystery series set in Los Angeles, the Mas Arai novels and the Officer Ellie Rush series. A former editor of The Rafu Shimpo newspaper and curator of historical exhibitions, Naomi also writes noir short stories, middle-grade fiction and nonfiction books.

Name: Tammy Kaehler
Conference Role: Programming Liaison
Bio: Tammy juggles a day job creating marketing, business, and technical materials, with writing the award-winning Kate Reilly Racing Mysteries, which recently took her to the pits of the Indianapolis 500 for the third time. She is apparently unable to say no when asked to help organize literary events.

Name: Steve Kiser
Conference Role: Website
Bio: Steve Kiser is happily retired from his carreer as a computer programmer. His wife, Sybil Johnson, is the author of the Aurora Anderson mystery series as well as a past president of SinC/LA and a past co-chair of the CCWC conference.

Name: Maryglenn McCombs
Conference Role: PR
Bio: A graduate of Vanderbilt University, Maryglenn McCombs is an independent book publicist who lives in Nashville with her husband Tim Warnock and their Old English Sheepdog, Major.

Name: Carlene O'Neil
Conference Role: Director at Large
Bio: Carlene O'Neil writes the Cypress Cove Murder Mysteries. One Foot in the Grape is the first in the series, published by Berkley Prime Crime.

Name: Nancy Cole Silverman
Conference Role: Sponsorship Committee
Bio: Nancy Cole Silverman is the author of Carol Childs Mysteries published by Henery Press. In addition, she has written a number of award-winning short stories.

Name: Patricia Smiley
Conference Role: Newsletter and Social Media Director
Bio: Patricia Smiley is the author of six novels, including Pacific Homicide, a police procedural featuring LAPD Homicide Detective Davie Richards (November 2016).

Name: Holly West
Conference Role: Registration
Bio: Holly West is the Anthony award-nominated author of the Mistress of Fortune historical mystery series. Her debut, Mistress of Fortune, was nominated for the 2015 Left Coast Crime Rosebud Award for Best First Novel. She resides in Northern California with her husband and two dogs.

Name: Will Zeilinger
Conference Role: Program Book Coordinator
Bio: Author of short stories and novels including The Final Checkpoint, and co-author of Desert Ice with his wife Janet Elizabeth Lynn.


For further information on Sisters in Crime/Los Angeles and SoCal Mystery Writers of America visit their websites at and | Logo by Tom Gatica